FORGOT YOUR DETAILS?

The Thought

Our paradigm at KRYPTON is relatively simple. We want to be independent in deciding what we do and when we do it.

Naturally we all live in a time system. But apart from this physical-theoretical time-scale, the time is relative for each one of us. Therefore only the individual point of view is relevant.

Until the founding of KRYPTON Watch, for 80 years many thoughts had to be thought and various coincidences had taken place ...

1935

SCHRÖDINGER'S CAT AND THE CENTRIFUGAL FORCE

In 1935, the physicist Erwin Schrödinger published his thought experiment for the very first time, which later became known world-wide under the designation "Schrödinger's cat”.

In this paradox, a cat can be - according to the rules of quantum mechanics - in a so-called superposition state, in which the cat is alive and dead at the same time.

In the same year my grandfather Kurt Löhner was in Munich as chief developer at BMW working on his patent of the so-called centrifugal separator, he also looked into the KRYPTON rare gas as a working medium in connection with the centrifugal force. Decades later this became the inspiration for the brand name.

Ultimately this fits very well with our brand core, because KRYPTON is monatomic and does not interfere with other elements. In this sense, KRYPTON is a lone wolf and therefore independent.

1936

DICE & CLOCKWORKS

1936 my grandfather met Erwin Schrödinger after a lecture at the University of Graz.

In a conversation not even fifteen minutes long, Schrödinger once more realized that he thought Albert Einstein's approach - that "God does not play dice" and that a clockwork must be at the very bottom of all things - is standing on shaky ground.

On the way back to Munich, my grandfather thought about Schrödinger's remarks and noted for himself, that the reality that should function as a calculable clockwork, would be a concept that challenges the decision-making capacity of man and his free will.

As my father told me, my grandfather thought that, following Schrödinger's cat experiment, such a clockwork, which determines fate and excludes coincidence can, and simultaneously can not, exist in a superposition state. A thought I could not immediately comprehend to be honest.

1938-1942

TURBOJET AND RELOCATION

In 1938 the German troops marched into Austria and Erwin Schrödinger left the country disguised as a holiday traveler. My grandfather at that time was absolutely absorbed by his work. In 1938 he started development on the Turbojet for BMW.

Until 1942, the single-shaft jet engine was developed by BMW under the leadership of my grandfather, Kurt Löhner. After starting the first flight tests in 1941 however, he saw the danger that his developments might be militarily misused so he decided not to put his service into the development of the Turbojets any longer, and moved with his family (amongst others with my father Ingolf) to Braunschweig to become active in scientific teaching.

In Braunschweig a professorship has been awarded and he headed the Institute for Internal Combustion Engines at the Technical University. The proximity to the Harz was a lucky chance because after the war he was able to live out again his passion for bobsleighing.

1978

The Blueprint

When I was seven years old my grandfather died in the year 1978. That same year my father, who worked as a junior engineer at Volkswagen in Wolfsburg, finished the following draft. This blueprint based upon his memories of the various conversations he had with his father. His father had often told him enthusiastically about his meeting with Erwin Schrödinger, and also about the idea of a clockwork that existed and at the same time did not exist.

1981

when times get tough.

In 1981 my father Ingolf Löhner was working for Volkswagen in California to work on the issue of an "environmental friendly diesel" (something that should not be mentioned at all today with regard to Dieselgate and other affairs). As a former participant in the German Weightlifting Championships, he spent his free time working out at Venice Beach.

There - under the California sun, as I imagine it – he prepared a second blueprint of a watch that unfortunately no longer exists today. He then marked it with the words "when times get tough". In fact the subjects of time and heavy weight-lifting seem to have paired. Ultimately this wording is now the KRYPTON claim.

2001

Cosmic Banditos

20 years later I enter the game:
Elmar Löhner.

In 2001 a friend asked me whether I was going to look with him for the author A.C. Weisbecker in order to publish his first novel "Cosmic Banditos" in Germany.

After reading the novel which was also about Quantum Mechanics and Schrödinger's cat, we flew to Montauk in order to meet with the author. After various discussions about the multiple-worlds theory and some joint bottles of rum, we could finally convince Weisbecker that we were the right people to publish his books in Germany.

2014

KRYPTON Watch begins

In 2014, I met again with my former publishing partner in Braunschweig, and we were reminiscing about the old days, when we thought back to a chapter in the first book that we had published. The chapter is named: Schrödinger's Bandito.

When I spoke about the meeting of my grandfather Kurt with Erwin Schrödinger and the course of the story, the idea of KRYPTON Watch was born. I was able to allure my father who now contributes his experience and even his sometimes strange engineering notions, too.

2016

Schrödinger 1936

After exactly 80 years, we finally managed to turn the idea into a product: This watch is a tribute to quantum physics and makes the reading of time impossible. Time is not only relative but we perceive it quite differently.

We can not believe how long the second hand needs to return to the visual field after 60 seconds. You get the feeling that time is stretching (and that even though we use Swiss precision movements).

The Schrödinger 1936 was launched in November as a Limited Edition.

Even more limited, the unique copy which we have built for our fellow Allan Weisbecker. It will remind him that he should always be true to himself. He is independent in what he does and he decides for himself when he does it.

And is this not something we all strive for?

Copyright © 2016 KRYPTON Watch
Braunschweig
 Germany

TOP

LOGIN-DATEN VERGESSEN?

Der Gedanke

Unsere Sicht der Dinge bei KRYPTON ist relativ einfach. Wir wollen unabhängig sein in dem, was wir tun, und wir wollen selbst entscheiden, wann wir etwas tun.

Natürlich leben wir alle in einem Zeitsystem. Aber neben dieser physikalisch-theoretischen Zeitskala ist die Zeit für einen jeden von uns relativ. Es kommt also auf die Sicht der Dinge des Einzelnen an.

Bis zur Gründung von KRYPTONWATCH mussten 80 Jahre lang verschiedenste Gedanken gedacht werden und Zufälle geschehen ...

1935

Schrödingers Katze und die Fliehkraft

Der Physiker Erwin Schrödinger veröffentlichte 1935 erstmals sein Gedankenexperiment, das später unter der Bezeichnung „Schrödingers Katze“ Weltruhm erlangte.

In diesem Paradoxon kann sich eine Katze nach den Regeln der Quantenmechanik in einem sogenannten Überlagerungszustand befinden, in dem die Katze gleichzeitig lebendig und tot ist.

Im selben Jahr arbeitete mein Großvater Kurt Löhner in München als Chefentwickler bei BMW an seinem Patent des sogenannten Fliehkraftabscheiders. Er setzte sich im Zusammenhang mit der Zentrifugalkraft auch mit dem Edelgas KRYPTON als Arbeitsmedium auseinander. Das diente uns dann Jahrzehnte später als Inspiration für den Markennamen.

Letztlich passt das sehr gut zu unserem Markenkern, denn KRYPTON ist einatomig und geht keine Verbindungen mit anderen Elementen ein. So gesehen ist KRYPTON ein Einzelgänger und somit unabhängig.

1936

Würfel und Uhrwerke

Ende 1936 traf mein Großvater nach einem Vortrag an der Universität in Graz zufällig auf Erwin Schrödinger.

In einem nicht einmal fünfzehnminütigen Gespräch stellte Schrödinger noch einmal fest, dass er Albert Einsteins Ansatz, dass „der Herrgott nicht würfelt“ und den Dingen ein Uhrwerk zugrunde liegen müsse, für schwachbrüstig halte (dieses Wort soll er tatsächlich benutzt haben).

Auf der Rückfahrt nach München dachte mein Großvater über die Ausführungen von Schrödinger nach und stellte für sich fest, dass die eine Realität, die wie ein kalkulierbares Uhrwerk funktionieren soll, ein Konzept ist, dass die Entscheidungsfähigkeit des Menschen und dessen Unabhängigkeit in Frage stellt.

Wie mein Vater mir berichtete, war mein Opa der Meinung, dass – dem Gedankenexperiment von Schrödingers Katze folgend – ein solches Uhrwerk, das das Schicksal bestimmt und den Zufall ausschließt, in einem Überlagerungszustand gleichzeitig sowohl existieren könne als auch nicht. Ein Gedanke, dem ich nicht gleich folgen konnte, wenn ich ehrlich bin.

1938-1942

Turbojet und Umzug

1938 marschierten die deutschen Truppen in Österreich ein und Erwin Schrödinger verließ als Urlaubsreisender getarnt das Land. Mein Großvater war zu jener Zeit absolut in seine Arbeit vertieft. 1938 begann er mit der Arbeit am Turbojet für BMW.

Bis 1942 wurde das Einwellen-Strahltriebwerk unter Federführung meines Großvaters Kurt Löhner bei BMW entwickelt. Nachdem die ersten Flugerprobungen 1941 begannen, sah er allerdings die Gefahr, dass seine Entwicklungen militärisch zweckentfremdet werden könnten. So beschloss er, seinen Dienst nicht mehr in die Entwicklung des Turbojets zu stellen und zog mit seiner Familie (unter anderem mit meinem Vater Ingolf) nach Braunschweig, um in der wissenschaftlichen Lehre tätig zu werden.

In Braunschweig erhielt er eine Professur und leitete das Institut für Verbrennungskraftmaschinen an der Technischen Hochschule. Die Nähe zum Harz war für ihn ein Glücksgriff, denn so konnte er nach Kriegsende seine Leidenschaft für das Bobfahren wieder ausleben.

1978

Die Skizze

Als ich sieben Jahre alt war, starb mein Großvater im Jahr 1978. Im selben Jahr fertigte mein Vater – seinerzeit Jungingenieur bei Volkswagen in Wolfsburg – die folgende Skizze. Grundlage dafür waren seine Erinnerungen an die Gespräche mit seinem Vater. Von dem Treffen mit Erwin Schrödinger hatte der ihm oft mit Begeisterung erzählt und auch von der Idee eines Uhrwerks, das im selben Zeitpunkt existierte und nicht existierte.

1981

when times get tough.

1981 war mein Vater Ingolf Löhner für Volkswagen in Kalifornien, um dort an dem Thema „Umweltdiesel“ zu arbeiten (eine Sache, die man heute rund um Dieselgate und andere Affären eigentlich gar nicht erwähnen dürfte). Als ehemaliger Teilnehmer an den Deutschen Meisterschaften im Gewichtheben verbrachte er seine Freizeit auch in Venice Beach.

Dort hat er – unter der kalifornischen Sonne, wie ich mir das vorstelle – eine zweite Skizze einer Uhr angefertigt, die heute leider nicht mehr existiert. Die hat er dann betitelt mit „when times get tough“. Dabei scheinen sich tatsächlich die Themen Zeit und Gewichteheben gepaart zu haben. Letztlich ist das jetzt auch der heutige KRYPTON-Claim.

2001

Cosmic Banditos

20 Jahre später komme ich dann ins Spiel:
Elmar Löhner.

2001 sprach mich ein Freund darauf an, ob ich mit auf die Suche nach dem Autor A.C. Weisbecker gehen wolle, um dessen ersten Roman „Cosmic Banditos“ in Deutschland zu verlegen.

Nachdem ich den Roman gelesen hatte, der sich auf humorvolle Art auch mit der Quantenmechanik und Schrödingers Katze beschäftigt, flogen wir nach Montauk, um den Autor zu treffen. Einige gemeinsame Flaschen Rum und diverse Diskussionen zur Vielweltentheorie konnten Weisbecker überzeugen, dass wir die Richtigen waren, um seine Bücher in Deutschland zu veröffentlichen.

2014

KRYPTON Watch entsteht

2014 traf ich in Braunschweig nach einigen Jahren Auszeit erneut auf meinen Verlagskollegen und wir sinnierten gleich wieder über die alten Tage und kamen auf ein Kapitel in dem ersten Buch, das wir seinerzeit verlegt hatten. Das Kapitel trägt den Namen: Schrödingers Bandito.

Als ich dann von dem Treffen meines Großvaters Kurt mit Erwin Schrödinger und den Fortgang der Geschichte berichtete, entstand die Idee von KRYPTON Watch. Meinen Vater konnte ich auch noch reaktivieren, der tagtäglich seine Erfahrung und mitunter sonderbare Ingenieursdenke beisteuert.

2016

Schrödinger 1936

Nach genau 80 Jahren haben wir es endlich geschafft, den Gedanken in die Tat umzusetzen. Die Uhr ist ein Tribut an die Quantenphysik und macht das Ablesen der Zeit unmöglich. Die Zeit wird dadurch nicht nur relativ, sondern wir nehmen sie auch ganz anders wahr.

Wir können es selbst nicht glauben, wie lange der Sekundenzeiger braucht, um nach 60 Sekunden wieder im Sichtfeld zu erscheinen. Man hat das Gefühl, als würde sich die Zeit strecken (und das, obwohl wir Schweizer Präzisionsuhrwerke verbauen).

Die Schrödinger 1936 kommt im November in limitierter Auflage auf den Markt.

Noch limitierter ist das Unikat, das wir für unseren Mitstreiter Allan Weisbecker gebaut haben. Es soll ihn daran erinnern, dass er so bleiben soll, wie er ist. Er ist unabhängig in dem, was er tut und er entscheidet selbst, wann er es tut.

Und wollen wir das nicht alle?

Copyright © 2016 KRYPTON Watch
Braunschweig
 Germany

OBEN